Thread: Moose Hunting Blues...Yukon Range Closed Again

Angry Moose Hunting Blues...Yukon Range Closed Again

The Fort Wainwright website has the closing schedule and a map, but the two don't seem to jive, or I am getting too old to understand. Anyone else plan on hunting there? Looks like everything (but active ranges) are open 5 September, then there are only two small areas open 10-30 Sept. It gets worse and worse every year. I know I've been spoiled, remembering the good times before 9/11... but why every year during the first 2 weeks of September??. I'm a 20 year AF vet, so please no patriotic speeches, just wondering why 1-15 September can't be more flexible. Oh well.... I better get one before the 5th!.

Fairbanks but Temporarily in Dayton OH

Default I

got your back! It used to be so easy to go out an hunt those areas. The drastic change came when the srtikers did. They are the reason it is closed so much more.

Default just my thoughts

Rumor has it, that the man at the top isn't into hunting, therefore he makes it tougher on those who like to hunt. Elmendorf used to go up there and do a drop off hunt every year--but 3 years ago do to change they had to cancel--the hunt used to book in 15 minutes at the outdoor rec shop. I hunted that area 3 years ago with a troop, he had done a bunch of scouting and a week before season everything was closed up due to exercises. Could be that this is all just coinicidence, or just nasty rumors--either way, I saved my money and was dropped off by an air charter--the only way to go in my opinion.

Good Luck

Quote Originally Posted by gobblinfool View Post
    Rumor has it, that the man at the top isn't into hunting, therefore he makes it tougher on those who like to hunt......
    The DPW Conservation Officer usually has the authority to regulate hunting and trapping on post lands, and Conservation Officers tend to be of the greenie type.