Thread: Air Taxi Complaints & Research

Default Air Taxi Complaints & Research

I've read some recent posts about bad air taxis. Maybe I'm doing this all wrong. When I decided to do an AK moose hunt this year, I first did as much research as I possibly could. I studied any and all internet info I could possibly find, everything from AKFG to guide services. I called and spoke with biologists. I posted messages asking for help on this and similiar sites. From this, I narrowed my search down to about 3 different units. Then I researched these even harder. I read, in detail, numerous outfitter and air taxi service's websites. Called a few from each unit. Decided on the unit. Studied ariel photos. Talked more with outfitters and air taxis. Posted for more help. Ordered topo maps, and Googled for as much info as I could possibly find. Narrowed it down even further to a specific lake and a specific area that I'd like to hunt, with a good backup plan and how I'd accomplish getting it executed. Then I called all the air taxis that could get me there. I decided on one, and had a backup service ready. I spoke with them in great detail about what they provide, what the costs were, what they could do for us, etc. Then I booked with them. With the deposit sent out, I then sent them marked maps with the exact specific area I wanted to be dropped at. Made sure it was do-able. They knew and agreed to put me exactly where I want to be five months ago. My hunt is already planned out in my head, from day one through day 15. That will of course change somewhat as it always does when critters are either here or there, but I would bet (unsafely- but I'd still probably make the bet) that I can do the entire hunt without a map or compass, just from studying topos. Now, maybe next week I won't see a single shooter moose, maybe I won't see a live moose, but I'll have no one to blame but me. I will have a great time, though.