Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How's the Sheep Shape training going?

Smile How's the Sheep Shape training going?

Hey all you Sheep hunters! Let's spur each other on! How's the training going? What are your goals? How good of shape are you in so far? You only have 5 weeks left if you're going early like we are. I've been nursing a bum knee for 3 months. Meniscus they say. Never had a problem before but it acted up while jogging last April, cut my ski season short too! But I'm up to hiking up and down hills with a 75lb pack, biking 20 miles a day 2 or three days a week, throwing in some squats or deadlifts and upper body also. Knee feels pretty good. My goal is to be packing 100lbs+ by August 1. It would be alot easier if I were 20 years younger!

My buddy and I drew DS203 so I may never get this chance again. Can you tell I'm excited?!? Somebody pinch me, I must be dreaming!!!
    A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and donít have one, youíll probably never need one again

I'm trying to mountain bike 100 miles per week, up from 50 to 60 miles per week during the late winter/early spring. Not too many hikes yet, but the biking has really improved my wind and leg strength. Need to do more hiking to get my new boots broken in. By the time I get back and recover from a late July/early August 10 day backpacking and scouting trip I should be good to go for my late August hunt. I'm already in far better shape than I have been in for any previous hunt which is a nice feeling.

Thumbs up sheep shape

today i ran, not jogged, 4.4 miles. i have been doing this 5-6 times per week. i also swam 3/4 mile and did a good ab workout. i expect to repeat the same workout for the 4th of july.

terrible the way work gets in the way of my workouts though. nevertheless, i am now down under a 33" waist and have lost 12 lbs. since i started. i have the last hunt and i will be ready.

good luck.

Default First Sheep Hunt