Thread: Broadhead sharpening

Default Broadhead sharpening

I am new to archery and am having difficulties getting my broadheads sharp enough. I have G5 Montec 100's and they are shooting great. I have been using my Diamond flat stone that one of the local knife shops said felt like about 300 grit. While there, I bought a flat ceramic stone of about 1000 grit.

I have tried running the broadheads in all different directions with different amounts of pressure and I just can't seem to get them razor sharp like they need to be. What am I missing? Everything I have read makes it sound like they are so easy to sharpen. I don't have anywhere near this much trouble with my knives.

Default broadheads

i bought the actual g5 stone and it works really good. It says to take a marker and mark on the area to be sharpened. Run the broadhead left to right on the rough side until all of the marker is gone then flip to another side. You gotta make sure that the blade is making full contact with the stone or it wont sharpen right.

You can also take a piece of glass (coffee tables work great for this), and tape down some automotive sand paper and work it down in stages......Works very well but hard to carry in the woods . The finer the grit, the finer the polish, the sharper it'll be!!!