Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Phantom & XS 200 optimax- blown motor!

Default Phantom & XS 200 optimax- blown motor!

I own a XS with one of these motors. A friend of mine blew his up a couple of weeks ago with 54 hours on it. Seems it put a rod threw the block. Since that has happen a couple other guys say they know someone that the same thing has happened too.

The boat shop & compoues don't have much to say about it except that a few boats have blown up with low hours.

Anyone else know anything?

I don't own one of those engines and I'm by no means an expert. However I can tell you that detonation will break rods if they are the weak point. So if you want to decrease your chance of breaking a rod and putting a nice window in your block, run a higher octane gas. There is almost zero chance of the manufacturer acknowledging a defect like weak rods, because that might involve a recall which would seriously eat into their profits. It's far cheaper for them to deal with it in a case by case basis. Don't ask me how I know

Doesnt Mercury warranty the motors for three years?
    Tennessee

I believe the jet models are warranted for only one year. Don't take this as gospel, though.

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by aksalcha View Post
    I own a XS with one of these motors. A friend of mine blew his up a couple of weeks ago with 54 hours on it. Seems it put a rod threw the block. Since that has happen a couple other guys say they know someone that the same thing has happened too.

The boat shop & compoues don't have much to say about it except that a few boats have blown up with low hours.

Anyone else know anything?