Thread: New to Duck Hunting-Questions

Default New to Duck Hunting-Questions

First off, let me say that I am new to duck hunting. I bought a Remington 870 in 1993 for the purpose of duck hunting and have NEVER duck hunted! (I shot some rabbits and spruce chickens with the shotgun though.) I need some general idea as to where to hunt ducks around the Palmer Hay Flats-I obviously don't want to know anyone's favorite spots, just somewhere that I can put in my time and have a crack at some fowl. My partner has duck hunted before, but out of Nikiski and is unfamiliar with the Hay Flats region.

I have 2 '84 Big Red 3 wheelers and my buddy has a small 12' boat with a 3 horse that can get wherever the canoes can go. I have no idea where to even begin to ride/boat to access the ducks. BTW, I have a 16' Hewescraft Sea Runner with a 40 hp too, if that may be of any use to access an area. Any help would be generously appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Tim

Check out the Jim Creek area. With that canoe set up you could easily put in at the end of Maud Road and access a lot of really good duck area.

Default Hay Flats

The main access to the Palmer Hay flats is off of Hayfield Rd., which breaks off of the Fairview Loop Road. Look for the brown state sign a mile or two down Hayfield Road. Your big reds will work fine on the trail. Opening day the tides may be too high for them though. You could also take the small boat up rabbit slough to access part of the same area.

Quote Originally Posted by lucy1 View Post
    You could also take the small boat up rabbit slough to access part of the same area.
    I was wondering about Rabbit Slough, I do know where that is.

Thanks.

Tim

Quote Originally Posted by yukon View Post
    Check out the Jim Creek area. With that canoe set up you could easily put in at the end of Maud Road and access a lot of really good duck area.

That sounds like a good idea too, thanks.

Tim

PS: Dumb question here-when does duck season end?