Thread: Powder for Barnes TSX

Default Powder for Barnes TSX

I have been reloading for my 7mm for a couple of months now, mostly with 162g Hornady's and 175g Sierra's and IMR 4831. My main goal other than save money is to work up to a good round for moose. Since I seem to get better groups with the heavier bullets I plan on going with the Barnes 170g TSX. My question is should I stick with the 4831 or try a slower burning powder like 7828? Is there any difference at all when shooting the same weight bullet but with different construction as with the all copper design of the TSX to the jacketed design of the hornady.

Default Size matters.......

7mm what? Case size is more important than bullet type when selecting a powder. Heavier bullets usually like slower powder.

Oh, yeah. I do remember your 7 mag. Stick with the 4831 or RL-22 with the 160 TSX, just reduce the charge a couple grains to start.
    Last edited by Murphy; 08-15-2007 at 16:42.
    Is there nothing so sacred on this earth that you aren't willing to kill or die for?

Thumbs up Reloader 22

In my 7mm Mag Reloader 22 with 160gr TSX and Nosler Accubond perrformed best.........H4831 was second best.

The 160gr Nosler Accubond was the most accurate of the two!
    Alaska

It's a rem mag. I went to Mt. View this afternoon to pick up the bullets but all they had were 160g. From what your saying Murphy, the 160g will have enough mass to do a number on Mr. moose? Also I don't have a Barnes manual, will it be safe to use data from the ones I do have?

You may be able to squeeze 100fps more using RL25 instead of RL22 and get better burn effeciency as well. However, I agree that H4831 and RL22 are among the best choices.

Quote Originally Posted by senecanation View Post
    Also I don't have a Barnes manual, will it be safe to use data from the ones I do have?