Thread: Improving accuracy

Default Improving accuracy

I'm fairly new to shooting larger caliber rifles, i.e. .30+, and my accuracy could use some improvement. I'm fairly accurate with my .22, getting small groups in the center of the paper every time, and while I can get within a 6" circle with my .300 WM, I feel that I could use some improvement. I'm fairly certain that the problem lies with me and not my rifle, but I don't really have enough experience to judge. I think I might also have a bit of a flinch, but I think I know how to correct that. What do you do to improve your aim?
    Chris Willhoite

Default basics

ok Chris, the first thing is go back to the basics, good sight picture, breathing, trigger SQUEZE, a good stedy rest, and have the gun in the sweet part of you shoulder. now as long as you are doing all of these and focing on them then you should be good. if the shot is low or high then it is most likely you breathing, and if it is left or right then it is your triger squeze. just focus on the basics, and if it is a large cal, make sure that it is tight on your shoulder so it doesent have a running start at you. good shooting

Whit

Practice, and practice some more.
    The emphasis is on accuracy, not power!

You probably could benefit from having a coach. Try to hook up with someone who is a good shot, and practice with them at the range. If you don't know someone who is a good shot, ask the rangemaster or RSO at the shooting range who they would recommend you ask for a few pointers. Most folks are happy to help...I am, and do. You already have the right attitude (i.e., you are honestly admitting that you may have some bad habits), which makes you more than halfway there towards being a much better shot.

Default improving accuracy

chris---check out a thread from about 2 weeks ago----i asked for help on how to practice(improve accuracy) and got many helpful ideas---they are working!!!!