Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bear protection shotgun

Default Bear protection shotgun

Hello. I am new to Alaska Outdoors and I am not sure if this is an allowed post. I am looking for a shotgun to buy. I am looking for a Mossburg Model 500, Winchester Model 1200 or Remington Model 870 in 12 gauge. I am looking for an 18" barrel, prefer slug barrel. If anyone can help me, I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

I went for the Mossberg long, long ago. If you use it lots, count on it getting UGLY. And that's the point with the 500. It's really reliable in spite of horrible treatment, but not so expensive that you feel bad as it gets beat up. Mine has zero bluing and almost no original stock finish. I mounted a sling on it and made no other mods. The top tang safety is a plus for me cuzz I'm a lefty, but folks who have borrowed mine and later bought their own shotgun usually buy a 500- even if they're right handed.

i to have decided to go with the 500 it is reliable and tough enough for the rough treatmeant it is going ot get. although i would suggest getting a unrifled barrel for it and altenate slugs and 00 buck shot. the other plus with the unriffled barrel is if u see any tasty little critters along the way u can throw in some bird shot and dinner is served

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by aksportsmen View Post
    i to have decided to go with the 500 it is reliable and tough enough for the rough treatmeant it is going ot get. although i would suggest getting a unrifled barrel for it and altenate slugs and 00 buck shot. the other plus with the unriffled barrel is if u see any tasty little critters along the way u can throw in some bird shot and dinner is served
    Ditto! Mine is a "boat/camp" gun. Doesn't get shot alot, but manhandled with the best of them and when it does get shot, it works flawlessly everytime. It's ugly, but effective...