Thread: Fox in the snow

Default Fox in the snow

Been lurking for while and thought it was time to participate. I've been trapping for about 5 years, doing pretty well and getting better. I've gotten pretty good at trapping marten, mink, and beaver but I seem to have terrible luck with fox. For all my efforts I have 1 pelt to show for it (it was pretty big though).
    What are some of the favorite methods around here? Scent/urine post, bait, blind, cubby.....? Any help would be appreciated. There are plenty of fox in the area I just don't seem to be sneaky enough.
    God Bless,

Default where are you at?

Where are you trapping at? Snaring is the best way to go if you can. Snare their trails, or set up small bait stations.

Default Snare

I agree, look back through the posts and check out MartenTrappers post on making and setting snares. It's lethal and a ton of fun - I prefer it over leg holds.

Bristol Bay

Lurch snaring is very effective but footholds can be an option as well using trail sets, snow holes and mound sets near a big bait to name a few one of the secrets of snow trapping fox if they are leary is keeping clean and having as little disturbance in an area as possible. coverings of trap pans using coffee filters or wax paper and covering with dry powder snow that you do not use your hands to cover use a metal spoon or spatual that is kept at air tempature while on the line. your question is very vague if you got more specific we could guide you
    meats meat don't knock it till you try it

Lightbulb fox snaring

one of my favorite methods is to run the sled through some brush and set the trail that it makes, fox will always work your trail, and you will catch him this way, just lean off the back of your machine and hang the snare, this method will work really nice for all the canines

Default I did ok on my first year of fox trapping...