Thread: PA12 or PA18?

Default PA12 or PA18?

I'm looking at buying a partnership interest in a Cub. I'm currently looking at two options - a PA12 with a 180hp or a PA18 with a 150. I'm new to flying and would like some feedback on the pro's and con's of these planes. Both are in great condition with low HSMO.

I have owned both on a couple different occasions...The PA-12s have more room and usually cruise a little faster. The cables that are outside on an 18 are inside the wings on a 12...The 12s also seem to trim out for a more comfy cruise...

The 18s take off and land shorter... the angle of incidence is steeper on the 18, while the 12 was made for cruising speed...
    There are more "LOTS" 18s and lots more mods for them..

Most 12s have old tubing hidding under their fabric...

Check out the supercub.org website...
    Tell em Alex sent you...
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

180 horses in the PA12 certainly changes the equation, though it won't make it land any shorter.

Default pa 12 or 18

1) I'm I understanding this correctly. Even with a stall speed of 32 knots, the pa12 takes a longer landing field?
    2) The pa12 does have extra room and more power, but it seems to me that all the mods and adjustments made to a pa12 are just trying to get this plane to perform closer to a pa18.
    3) As for take offs and landings, what are the differances in field requirements?

To be quite truthful, if you currently have no experience in either one, you (at your current level) will not be able to tell the difference. It take lots of practice and experience to obtain the most out of either aircraft.
    The 12s are a touch wider in their gear stance so they may be a little easier to keep straight during landings.