Thread: Crimping knowlage

Default Crimping knowlage

I am a novice reloader. I shoot a 375 h&h and have never had to crimp a cartrige. I trimmed all my cases to the barns book 2.840 and loaded them with 71gr. rl15 and have seated 270gr barns x with a crimping groove. I understand that if seated to deep will cause exesive preasures. My rifle feeds them nice out of the magazine a post 70 classic. This is the question the lead isn't deep enough to crimp the end of brass is only a few thou. short to reach the groove I am using rcbs dies I don't exactly know should I set the round deeper then crimp, and if so how do I know if I go to deep?
    Visions Steel/841-WELD(9353)
    "Rebellion is in my blood, I was born an American"
    Μολών λαβέ

Default Crimping

If your dies are set properly, there really is little need to crimp a .375 like you would a straight-walled cartridge, such as a .44 Magnum. You need to snug the case to the bullet, but to try to force a crimp will only crush the case. Position the crimp in the seating die to be snug, but not balloon or crush your case at the bottom of the handle stroke once you have determined what overall length you want to load to.

The crimp line on a centerfire rifle bullet is there just because the manufacturer put one there. It does not mean it has to be used by any means. I load and shoot Nosler Partitions in my .375, and there is no crimp line on them. Some of the practice ammo I load in this gun and others have crimp lines, but some of the loads are adjusted either above or below those crimp lines, depending what I am shooting.