Thread: What Gear For Alaska Surfing?

Default What Gear For Alaska Surfing?

Besides a dry suit (any recommendations) what other gear is necessary for Alaska surfing? Any difference in the board you use? Longer? Shorter? Same leash set up?
    Science has a rich history of proving itself wrong.

I'm not an Alaskan Pro surfer, but it seemed very similar to East Coast surfing if you've done any of that. You're not going to be pipelining, but it's pretty fun surfing while surrounded by mountains. I'd highly recommend that your dry-suit has or you buy a neoprene hood for it, it'll keep you out there longer and warmer. I've only surfed in Yakutat, but the hood was definitely what kept me out there longer and others were heading for shore to warm up sooner.

im from cape cod, ma and surf all over NE... we surf year round - beach break and rocky points.. hurricane season and winter nor'easters are the best times... winter we are wearing 5/4/3 hooded suits with 7 mil booties and gloves. keeps me warm for about 2-3 hours on the coldest days, winter water temps in the 40's. i would think alaska would be somewhat similar. i wear the 5/4/3, others wear the 6 mil suits

Good to know. My surfing experience is limited to years living on Oahu. I couldn't even get the courage to go out in Southern California without a wet suit!

I have been diving in 50 degree water though and my face did not care for it. Good recommendation on the hood.

Default First time posting...but here are my thoughts...

I'm such a fan of my drysuit set up I thought I'd post...although it looks like you're not talking about surf kayaking. I surf kayak off Three Mile Beach past Pasagshak on Kodiak Island. The GoreTex Kokatat drysuit is wonderful - with the built in spray skirt "attachment" and booties. They make a polar fleece liner which is incredibly comfortable and doesn't bunch like other insultation layers. During the summer I can get by without a hood and without gloves.