Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: So you've spotted a harvestable moose, now what?

Default So you've spotted a harvestable moose, now what?

Ok, after a few time consuming pm's I still have no responses to my pressing questions. Maybe they think it's a joke, but it is far from it. I drew an anterless tag for DM 408. If I cannot find a cow to my liking in this area I might as well give up hunting. But I am no expert moose field dresser, I have dressed moose in the past but not from start to finish and that was years ago. The "critical" parts were taken care of for me. Basically I am not confortable doing this by myself. There are a few people trying to spoon feed me advice but I am not buying it, mainly family that wants to go on the hunt.

This leads me to properly bleeding a moose. Some of the people I have talked to think the only way to shoot a moose is behind the ear. After the moose is down it's time to come-along the monsterous animal up a tree to bleed it. "No blood what so ever should touch the meat," is what I hear. "Your hands should never ever be bloody when dressing a moose." From the sites I have read they claim a lung or heart shot basically bleed the animal for you. I am begining to think the entire "come-along the animal up a sapling" is a deer roots thing.

So watcha think? Ear shot then come-along the moose up a tree? Or lung shot, dress, bag, and then head home? And most improtantly, WHY?

Default If you're hung

No need to hang. I am not sure it is even possible in many situations. I have very limited experience in moose butchering. But I did do it by myself. First I did a lung shot. It did not seem to phase it. It looked like I missed. However after about a minute he went down. The last thing on my mind was to find a stout tree, climb up it with heavy gear, and then try to get the moose close enough and try to winch it up. And mine was a fork horn. Even if you had a front-end loader to hang it with, you would need a ladder to do the butchering.