Thread: Whittier water calmness

Default Whittier water calmness

I have already looked at the marine forcast for whittier and passage cannal this weekend, suppost to be 2 ft. I am really concerned about the seas at pigot point/pigot bay/port wells. Do you think it is safe or unsafe to be there in a 16' boat, any advice or typical weather conditions would be helpful

Default Not me

Not me. I'd get a bigger boat. 16' for PWS is small. Oh yea, guys do it but not me. Maybe it is calm enough to go out. But a little wind and you are not coming back. You are going to anchor up in a little bay for the night, or two, until things calm down.

I don't mean to rain on your parade, but I have been boating out there for 7 years. Six of those years I have made 3-4 trips a week during shrimping season.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

16 foot boat is a pretty broad category:

16 foot jon boat, never
    16 foot skiff, I would recomend against it
    16 foot zodiak or rib, no problem.

I've been out of whittier several times the past few weeks, in fact I was just out yesterday. The conditions change rapidly and even within relatively short stretches. Yesterday in the morning was pretty calm out from Whittier but when we got into Wells passage it was well over 2 foot seas, probably pushing 4' in some areas. Then we ran down Culross which was flat after the first narrows, and we had it very calm all the way out to the E side of Knight island. It was flat way out there and then pretty much calm all the way back.

Then on this Sunday it was calm coming back from the same area, until we turned the point into Whittier where the wind had picked up off the glacier and was 2 pushing 4 feet all the way into the harbor.