Thread: Clearwater Creek Controlled Use Area confusion

Default Clearwater Creek Controlled Use Area confusion

I just got back from a great, whirlwind weekend hunt on the Denali Highway in the Clearwater Creek Controlled Use Area. We went up the Windy Creek road and had a great hunt on bikes. Also ran into some confusion about the regulations. I want to state from the beginning that everyone involved was very courteous, friendly, and the whole interaction was positive. So not trying to complain about any individuals, but rather, ambiguity in the regulations.

The SoA 2019-2020 Hunting regulations state in the description of the Clearwater Creek Controlled Use area that the area is "closed to the use of any motorized vehicle for hunting, including the transportation of hunters, their hunting gear, or parts of game, except for brown/grizzly bears, wolves, and small game from Mar 15 through June 30". I've been hunting this area for several years, using a bike for access. This trip, we ran into a group of people hunting moose from a large tracked vehicle about 4 miles in from the parking lot. While we were processing our caribou I met the vehicle on the road and asked to make sure they understood that the area is closed to motorized access hunting. The hunters on the rig had the regulations with them, and thought they were following the regulations: they interpreted the regulations to mean that the area is "closed to the use of any motorized vehicle for hunting... from Mar 15 through June 30." Those of us who hunt the area know that it's closed to motorized access, and I can legitimately see how someone could interpret the regulations (and the sign at the Windy Creek parking lot) to mean that the area is only closed to motorized access from March 15 - June 30. It's not clear in the description of the regulations. When I explained that the regulations allow for hunting of brown/grizzly bears, wolves, and small game with motorized access from Mar 15 - June 30, the hunter