Thread: Gas vs. Diesel

Default Gas vs. Diesel

I'm just learning about "ocean" boats - in the mindset of considering purchase anyway.

I know diesels are typically quite a bit more expensive, but at what point (boat size) does one have to say gas engines burn too much and go too slow? A friend of mine bought a 38' Uniflite with gas engines and IMHO, it's a pig. Very comfortable, but only 14kts and 28gph!!! Should one expect THAT much more performance from a diesel to justify the cost?

Well, thats a good question. I suspect the diesels really start paying for themself when you are looking at 30 foot boats and larger with twin motors.
    On a smaller, newer boat that has a EFI gas motor then it is a different call at together and very debatable as to which way to go.
    For example, for my SeaSport the 8.1 EFI motor was a $5k option. To go to the smallest diesel it was ANOTHER $12k above that. I average 2.2-2.4 mpg when cruising at 25 mph. I am sure a diesel would double my fuel economy but even running 100 hours a year how long would the payback be? Granted the range is much greater with the diesel but then you need to add another gas tank if you have a gas kicker.
    Only the boater who buys the boat can decide if the additional cost of the diesel is worth it to them.
    Good luck in your decision.
    Tennessee

Default gas vs. diesel

I hate to say it, but if you really have to ask how much it costs.....you can't afford it. Fuel is only a part of the total expense of owning an ocean boat.
    If you are worried about fuel get an 18 ft with a 50 hp Honda.

More info is needed. But going with the 38' Uniflite example, then diesels would be the way to go.

It really depends on if your looking for a planing boat, a displacement boat, or the worst of the bunch (like the Uniflite) a semi-planing boat.

There wasnt a choice offered on my boat, they use diesel engines only.