Thread: Commercial fishing yea / nay?

Default Commercial fishing yea / nay?

This post is about deep water commercial fishing.

So I am a real amateur crabber and Puget Sound salmon troller looking for a change of scene and I a wanted to stretch my sea legs and head out to sea for a while.

I have been looking at commercial fishing, but the only thing I can get without commercial deckhand experience is a fish packer on a trawler in the Bering.

No prob everybody has to pay their dues, but I have had a few contemplations.

1.) I find online that bottom trawlers are a killer on the underwater ecosystem, tearing up habitats. Is this a load of bollocks or is it a real problem?

2.) People talking about Global Warming and how its affecting fishing. Are there any commercial fishers out there who are seeing a steady decline in pay rates?

3.) Does $10k-12k for 90 days of 128 hr/ wk sound reasonable for starting out? A couple hispanic buddies are always bragging of making WAAY more.

4.) I imagine Long line fishing has a much less negative impact on the eco, any thoughts?

Quote Originally Posted by dimmthewitted View Post
    This post is about deep water commercial fishing.

1.) I find online that bottom trawlers are a killer on the underwater ecosystem, tearing up habitats. Is this a load of bollocks or is it a real problem?

2.) People talking about Global Warming and how its affecting fishing. Are there any commercial fishers out there who are seeing a steady decline in pay rates?

3.) Does $10k-12k for 90 days of 128 hr/ wk sound reasonable for starting out? A couple hispanic buddies are always bragging of making WAAY more.

4.) I imagine Long line fishing has a much less negative impact on the eco, any thoughts?
    First lets just state that Alaska is a resource based economy and pretty much any resource development/harvesting is going to catch flak from the greenies.