Thread: Archery Caribou

Default Archery Caribou

For all the bow hunters who have hunted caribou along the Haul Rd/Dalton HWY. I have questions.

I am thinking to head up next fall-August.
    My background is mainly bow hunting Whitetails. I have shot a lot of WT with my bow, both tree stand and spot and stalk. Also a couple black bears.

My caribou experience is limited to only a couple rifle shot animals. Now I want to try my archery skills on them.

Questions are:
    typical range that you can honestly get into for shot
    what weight broadhead guys are using
    typical cover one can anticipate, (pictures would be great).

I am sure I will come up with more questions as they arise.

Thanks for any input, Kathleen

From my experience the caribou have a 70 yard comfort zone. If you can hit that far great. If not, don't worry. There is a lot of area up there. It might be flat to gently rolling hills. Some stream beds, some willows, rocks and the pipe line to hide behind. If you have the bow setup for whitetails, you should be fine poundage wise. I would use a cut-on-impact broadhead. (I hate mechanicals) The groups used to roam around quite a bit so it is possible to get in front of them and wait. I have seen one team try a decoy but I don't know if they were successful. It was a husband and wife team. Attachment 97210This is up top above Galbrith Lake on a mountain. Attachment 97211This shot shows how quick it goes frm mountain to flat. But don't let "flat" fool you. The tussocks can be a real pain in the butt to walk on.

Hillary moved to NY and I moved out.

Attachment 97212
    This kid shot this one while we were there. He ran after it, the caribou got confused and came back to see what was chasing him and the kid shot it.