Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Soliciting input on submitting a bowhunting proposal for unit 14A and B

Default Soliciting input on submitting a bowhunting proposal for unit 14A and B

I have never done a proposal for fish and game before but I am seriously considering writing one. I love to bow hunt, but some of the reasons I dislike bowhunting for moose locally are the following

#1) Extremely short season (1 week is pathetic)
    #2) Season is way too early (Hunting in early August hardly feels like hunting to me with the foliage, mosquitoes, heat etc.)

What I think would be a fair trade off that might be viewed favorably by multiple user groups is the following changes.

#1) Lengthen the bow season by a month (August 17-31 and September 26-October 10)
    #2) Shorten the rifle season by a week (September 1-25)
    #3) Require a small fee for an archery tag ($5)

Justification and explanation for the changes

Change #1) Lengthening the bow season would not have a dramatic impact on the moose population, because there are not as many bow hunters as rifle hunters and the success rate is less than rifle hunters. Lengthening the season would benefit the hunting community by providing a more enjoyable, relaxed season and giving more time in the field to hunters that enjoy a longer season and less traffic.

Change #2) Shortening the rifle season by a week would reduce the rifle harvest only slightly, thereby offsetting any additional harvest that is attributable to the longer bow season. By taking a week off at the beginning of the season, the rifle hunters would still get to hunt during the prime hunting season and the rut. In other words, they wouldn't be losing out very much at all. Most rifle hunters I know don't hunt that much in August anyhow.