Thread: Advice on a do-all fly fishing set up for salmon

Default Advice on a do-all fly fishing set up for salmon

Howdy! I'm new to the forum and was wondering if I could get some advice from yall concerning a decent set up for salmon fishing in Alaska. The wife and I moved up in May and hopefully will be staying around for a while.

Would it be better to go with an 8-wt or 9-wt? What lengths should I look into and what leaders and tippet do yall recommend? Also, what kind of flies do you recommend? I'm new to the salmon fishing game and don't really have anyone that is helping me out.

The reason why I ask, is that I went up to Montana creek and was screwing around up there and ended up hooking two kings on a 5-wt. This wasn't the brightest of ideas. I ended up fighting one for more than five minutes with him just sitting there in the current not doing much of anything since I couldn't get him to budge. The only way I could move him was by pulling downstream, which promptly pissed him off and sent him rocketing back upstream. Needless to say both fish ended up breaking off and I was lucky that I didn't break the rod.

Default No one-size fits all really . .

Hotdiggity, if I were going to pick one setup for for salmon in this state, I'd probably go with a 9' 2-piece 9 weight, probably a GL Loomis GL2 ($205 at Sportsman's Warehouse), mated with an Orvis Battenkill Mid-Arbor Reel ($129 at Mountain View). There are certainly MANY more options to choose from, but the price/quality equation is certainly very good for these choices.

I'd choose the 9wt because you can use it for reds and silvers (I'd buy a second spool and put an 8wt floating line on it for these) and chums, yet you can still use it for kings on most of the rivers where it is possible to fly fish for kings (Montana, Goose, Caswell, Sheep, Ninilchik, Deep Creek, Anchor, etc).