Thread: Digizooming... any tips for good pics...

Default Digizooming... any tips for good pics...

I have a Zeiss Diascope and will be using a Sony Cybershot 8 mp camera on an upcoming float trip on the Goodnews in SW Alaska. Anyone have any tips to offer on getting good pictures of bears as I travel down river. I am new to photography and would appreciate any insights. Mainly, should I use the automatic mode or manual. Honestly, I dont know much about the manual settings and feel that I am not getting the best pics at times due to always using the auto mode. I would appreciate any tips on that. Is slowing the shutter speed good for capturing landscapes and such. I took some pics on the last trip (Kugururok about 90 miles north of Kotz) but the pics in the evening clouds were darker that I would have liked. Also the pics I took of the nearby mountains in the day time were too bright. How hard is it to adjust this to get brighter pics in the evening and such. I would appreciate any info offered. Thanks.

I do a lot of float trips and usually see at least one bear on most multi-day trips. The problem is they are usually too far away to make much of it with most cameras. The typical camera has a 3x optical zoom, and the digital zoom is a joke - less than worthless, as you are tempted to use it. You are better off shooting without digital zoom and cropping the image later in an image editing program. The quality will be (marginally) better.