Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: too old?

Default too old?

I am sure I already know the answer to this question, but figured I'd ask anyway. It has been a dream of mine for some time to fly..Ever since I was a kid actually, but things just never worked out for me to do it. Had wife and kids early and had to support them rather than spend money on "extras" that I could not afford. Anyway, that dream has always been in the back of my mind through my life..and with it the dream of flying in Alaska.
    I know I am not "too old" to learn to fly, but probably too old to make a real go of it as a bush pilot since I have no experience at all. If a person had their PPL, IFR, and Commerical single engine ratings, but no professional experience, how long do you think they'd have to be a "scrub" before getting a real flying job? Would a company even be interested in taking a chance on someone that is older with no experience? I know airlines have a mandatory 60 year old retirement, but does that requirement hold for cargo transport, etc.? What would you think is the age where there is no reason to even pursue it? Assuming it took me 1 year to get to the ratings listed above, then another 3 years to get a chance flying cargo/transport..I'd be 50..only 10 years before forced retirement if 60 is the ago for that type of flying. Why would anyone want to hire a person that has so little time of viable use? I understand they would be interested if I were already experienced, but starting at such an "advanced" age..??

From the perspective of a passenger on Wright Air and Ravn, I'm betting a capable, conscientious pilot can work well past 60 with a regional or cargo carrier. I've been on a few flights where the pilot was probably over 65. Hopefully someone with some industry background will be along to confirm or refute my observation.

So let me get this straight. You are only in your mid 40s and worried you are over the hill??