Thread: Pioneer X Stream

Default Pioneer X Stream

Has anyone used a Pioneer X Stream inflatable raft, I am looking to buy one for moose float hunts but need to know if they are worth the money.

Welcome to the forum! I'd love to see some field reports on them too, came close to buying one at Sportsman's Warehouse a couple years ago.

I bought a legend raft from Larry last spring. That as I'm sure you know is the size smaller then the pioneer. I should say at this point I'm no rafting expert but I did a fair amount of research and like anything with boats there is not one that's going to work perfectly in all situations. So for me the legend checked a lot of boxes and I pulled the trigger. Doing day floats in preparation for a fall hunt I was pleased with the rafts handling on class I and II water. My fall moose hunt was planned for me and two others who would be in hard shell kayaks. So I would have the gear and we were limited to one moose if any. We were fortunate and killed a bull and on the float out I took all of camp and the entire moose. I did not weigh everything when I got back but I'm sure I was a bit overloaded. The big challenge on the way out was shallow water and sweepers. I had made a set of oar locks and was glad I had them no way a kayak paddle would have handled that loaded boat. I was very pleased with the raft and look forward to getting out in the spring on the river. I know less about posting on forums then I do about rafts but if I can I'll post a picture of the loaded raft on the float out.

Default Loaded legend

IMG_0435.jpgThat's camp and one bull

Quote Originally Posted by div116 View Post
    Has anyone used a Pioneer X Stream inflatable raft, I am looking to buy one for moose float hunts but need to know if they are worth the money.