Thread: New to canning salmon

Default New to canning salmon

I'm new to canning salmon, I read somewhere that you could brine salmon in a flavor filled solution for 24 hours then can it...I was wondering if this is a good idea? The article didn't give the recipe for the brine or how to do it. Can anyone help please?

Angie,

I don't think marinating fish is necessary to flavor it. I've added lots of ingredients to salmon to play with the flavor. Just season in the jar before you put the lid on. Garlic, lemon pepper, onion, liquid smoke, stc. I found that I prefer to just use table salt or Lawry's seasoned salt and then I can doctor up the fish to suit the use after I open a jar. Most of my fish is made into spreads, used in casseroles, or made into salmon patties. I like the canned fish to be versatile so I've found it better to season the recipe rather than the ingredient.

I also can smoked salmon. I prep the smoked fish as normal with a dry brine but don't smoke it as long or cook it off as I would smoked fish that isn't to be canned. I always add a few jalepeno slices to those jars since it'll usually get eaten as it is, rather than in a recipe. It does make excellent spreads for sandwiches and crackers, though.

Don't be afraid to experiment.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Pid View Post
    Angie,

I don't think marinating fish is necessary to flavor it. I've added lots of ingredients to salmon to play with the flavor. Just season in the jar before you put the lid on. Garlic, lemon pepper, onion, liquid smoke, stc. I found that I prefer to just use table salt or Lawry's seasoned salt and then I can doctor up the fish to suit the use after I open a jar. Most of my fish is made into spreads, used in casseroles, or made into salmon patties. I like the canned fish to be versatile so I've found it better to season the recipe rather than the ingredient.