Thread: The skinny on Deshka and Yenta rivers

Default The skinny on Deshka and Yenta rivers

I'm picking up a 16' aluminum skiff with a old 30hp evinrude motor (because winter is the time to pick summer toys, summer the time to pick winter toys). I'm new to these waters; what is the skinny on Deshka and Yenta rivers for salmon fishing, heck for moose and bear? How far up the rivers can I /do I need to get?

It sounds like you have a boat for the Deshka the Yentna is going to be a good run for you. You will need extra fuel . I don't think that I would want to be in a 16ft boat at the mouth of the Yentna if you have any wind you can see 2ft whitecaps in that area. This is observed after 30 plus years running it.

With all due respect..
    If I were you, I'd try to research as much info first in these forums because there's literally a TON of it regarding these areas...
    Yep, there's salmon, bears, and moose over there..
    How far can you go? Till you run out of water or gas..
    Can you be a little more specific?
    Asking "what's the skinny" in an area as big as you're wanting too know about is pretty broad...

Quote Originally Posted by Big Bend View Post
    It sounds like you have a boat for the Deshka the Yentna is going to be a good run for you. You will need extra fuel . I don't think that I would want to be in a 16ft boat at the mouth of the Yentna if you have any wind you can see 2ft whitecaps in that area. This is observed after 30 plus years running it.
    What he said! Iím fairly new to the rivers and have an 18í with a 115-80jet and feel a bit inadequate at times... doable? Yes. Comfortable? Not exactly... no one but you knows your ability. Get out and see what ya think. But use your head. The big su is big water and nothing to laugh at. My .02
    Tomorrow isn't promised. "Never delay kissing a pretty girl or opening a bottle of whiskey." E. Hemingway

Quote Originally Posted by swampdonkey View Post
    With all due respect..