Thread: Lake Hood in Winter

Default Lake Hood in Winter

I'll be putting straight skis on my SQ2 in the next couple of weeks. I'm pretty sure that means at Lake Hood I'm landing on the lake, correct?

Not being a float pilot I've only landed on the gravel strip before. What's the procedure to land on skis? Is there a transient parking area so I could head to town to do some shopping? And where is the fuel located at the lake?

Thanks
    Phil Whittemore
    If you're not living on the edge you're taking up too much space.

https://share.delorme.com/PhilWhittemore

If the lake is open you fly inbound and outbound using floatplane water lanes and routes. If the lake is NOTAM closed you can still operate at your own risk. Contact tower and announce intentions. They'll ask you to call airborne going out and down and clear when arriving when the lake is closed.

25 years at Lake Hood and the winter transient question is a total mystery to me. No idea.

There's an ACE fuel self-serve pump at the public ramp on the west shore of Lake Hood.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Pid View Post
    If the lake is open you fly inbound and outbound using floatplane water lanes and routes. If the lake is NOTAM closed you can still operate at your own risk. Contact tower and announce intentions. They'll ask you to call airborne going out and down and clear when arriving when the lake is closed.

25 years at Lake Hood and the winter transient question is a total mystery to me. No idea.

There's an ACE fuel self-serve pump at the public ramp on the west shore of Lake Hood.
    Thanks, just the info I was looking for.
    Phil Whittemore

Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Pid View Post

The fuel dock dock is no longer at the west public ramp. I would call the truck to meet you at the north public ramp. I have seen planes park near the north public ramp for short periods (like a shopping trip into town).

Quote Originally Posted by Zim View Post