Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Damaged Transducer Wire

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Anchorage (only 1 hour from alaska)
    Posts
    291

    Default Damaged Transducer Wire

    So, my transducer wire was damaged down near the transducer where it will be splashed/submerged constantly. I think it stemmed from hitting a decent log.
    It is a Garmin unit with chirp. Is there a good way to repair the wire or is it best to buy a new transducer? I suppose if new is better, now would be the time to upgrade...
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,233

    Default

    It may be possible to splice the cable.

  3. #3
    Member KantishnaCabin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    125

    Default

    Ohh, good question. I tried in vane to repair a transducer cable on my last boat. It met the same sort of fate. I could never get the splice to hold and give a reliable reading on mine. I finally gave up and replaced the transducer, problem solved.

  4. #4
    Member akdeweyj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    561

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by roybekks View Post
    So, my transducer wire was damaged down near the transducer where it will be splashed/submerged constantly. I think it stemmed from hitting a decent log.
    It is a Garmin unit with chirp. Is there a good way to repair the wire or is it best to buy a new transducer? I suppose if new is better, now would be the time to upgrade...
    Thanks!
    Which Garmin transducer is it?
    2007 24ft NorthRiver OS
    Twin 175 Suzuki's
    "Thunderbird"
    MMSI #338033856

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,233

    Default

    Depending on how much cable there is to work with I've had good success splicing wires. The Airmar Transducer having 26 or 30 Ga wires makes it more of a challenge. That does not mean it not impossible if the tech knows what he doing.

  6. #6
    Member Bullelkklr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage Alaska
    Posts
    4,779

    Default

    You can splice em. Use a couple layers of good quality heat shrink wrap with the glue in it when you are done.

    No way I would try to get a new transducer because of a broken wire....my ducer was $1000.00.

  7. #7
    Moderator stid2677's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Fairbanks Area
    Posts
    7,260

    Default

    I saw this stuff for fixing my computer cable... But,, I thought they were calibrated and changing length would mess them up?

    https://sugru.com/about
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

  8. #8
    Member Bullelkklr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage Alaska
    Posts
    4,779

    Default

    Steve - it depends on how much do you want to shorten it. Taking too much length off the cable could cause impedance problems. If it is just a little bit it will be fine. Most manufactures do not want handyman jo bob splicing the transducer cables because if they are not done correctly the user will call the manufacture........

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,233

    Default

    Reading Airmar insulation instruction (SS175) there was no mention of problems cause by adding or cutting the cable or anything about impedance being a problem.
    **********************
    Copy from the insulation instruction Airmar SS175.

    Cable Routing & Connecting
    CAUTION: If the transducer came with a connector, do not
    remove it to ease cable routing. If the cable must be cut and
    spliced, use Airmarís splash-proof Junction Box No. 33-035 and
    follow the instructions supplied. Removing the waterproof
    connector or cutting the cable, except when using a water-tight
    junction box, will void the sensor warranty.
    1. Route the cable to the instrument, being careful not to tear the
    cable jacket when passing it through the bulkhead(s) and other
    parts of the boat. Use grommet(s) to prevent chafing. To reduce
    electrical interference, separate the transducer cable from other
    electrical wiring and the engine. Coil any excess cable and
    secure it in place using cable ties to prevent damage.

  10. #10
    Member Bullelkklr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage Alaska
    Posts
    4,779

    Default

    I saw that also - specific to airmar. My airmar came with no connector so I had to terminate it. I have not tried to splice a transducer cable. If you google this topic you will see a plethora of different responses....

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    3,233

    Default

    I know I'm being silly believing that the manufacture with all its engineers and years designing and building transducers know more about there product that guys on the internet.

    That said......what reason would Airmar have to not told there customers there could be a problem with matching the impedance or length of cable if there was one?

  12. #12
    Member Bullelkklr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage Alaska
    Posts
    4,779

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MacGyver View Post
    I know I'm being silly believing that the manufacture with all its engineers and years designing and building transducers know more about there product that guys on the internet.

    That said......what reason would Airmar have to not told there customers there could be a problem with matching the impedance or length of cable if there was one?
    I agree....

  13. #13
    Member Music Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    ANC
    Posts
    1,228

    Default

    They are a business, they want to sell you a new transducer, therefore they say "don't mess with the cable, buy a junction box and a new transducer". This is the same reason they say you can't shoot through the aluminum hull, they want it off the back where it will eventually get torn off and you will have to buy a new one.
    When seconds count, the cops are just minutes away.
    '08 24' HCM Granite HD "River Dog"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •