Thread: New Boater Questions

Default New Boater Questions

Looking for a little info on jets as I am a new jet driver.

First off I have an 1852 with 70hp Yamaha 2-stroke (donít hate me, I could afford it). I have put 40-50 hours on it in the last month and a half. I have sucked a lot of rocks and the impeller is most definitely dinged up.
    First: Can I up grade the factory impeller for a little more speed (I already have bigger engine envy). I have heard some of the stainless argument and I take from that, that it will not help performance on any engine less than 100hp, but that it has longer life.
    Next: 4600 rpms is all I get out of the engine. I cruise around 3800-4000. I have heard others talking about much higher rpms. Is there anything wrong with my throttle?
    Last (for today): What is the best way to mount seats, rodholders, cletes, ectÖ? I have already had seat screws pop out.

Nobody hates anybody because of what they do or don't have. You have a boat to get you on the water, and that's great.

I'm not an expert on jets, but here's my thoughts. Most o/b's redline around 6000 rpm give or take. If you're only getting 4600 wot, you either have too much impellor for the engine (or a damaged impellor), are putting too much weight on the boat for the engine, your throttle linkage isn't allowing the carbs to fully open, or you have something wrong with the engine that is not allowing it to make full power.

Were you able to get higher rpm earlier on in the season, when the impellor was in better shape? A dinged up inmpellor, and improperly shimmed certainly won't help you get going, especially if your engine is on the smaller size for your boat and load.

Default RPMs

The engine has maxed out the rpms at the 4600ish mark since I bought it new. Roughly 1 1/2 month ago. Should I be taking it back to the shop for a tune?

Thumbs up