Thread: S&W M329PD-who has one...what do you think?

Question S&W M329PD-who has one...what do you think?

I've been using a S&W M396 for about 10 years - with stiff loads...250gr. hardcast @ 970fps.... Thinking about upgrading to M329. The only changes I would make are M500 grips, action job and magnaport. I think it would be a 44mag I be willing to wear in the woods...unlike my 629 Mountain Gun, that seems to pull my pants down and, so, gets left in the truck. (I can't abide shoulder holsters.)

Anybody here have experience with M329?

I owned one. It is very light, easily packed, the snap in the recoil is terrible and I sold it.
    I find my S&W 500 (4in and 6 1/2in) or 460 6 1/2 inc versions much easier to shoot.
    Tennessee

Default pull pants down

I have the same problem with a different weapon. I used suspenders and have not had a problem since.

I have one and I do love the weight! problem is I still end up not carring it half of the time Recoil is stiff with 300 gr. federal hardcasts. I have only shot about 100 rounds through it. I haven't developed a flinch but I limit myself to 25 rounds at a time.

Jake

Default M329

CZ_IN_AK....

Have you thought about replacing the grips with the S&W M500 grips (about $30)....I understand that they fit perfectly and help alot. Magnaporting, which I had done to a 338 and a 330 Dakota, helps quite a bit with muzzle jump on rifles, and, I think, should be the ticket for lessening the extremely quick muzzle jump.

My M396...18 oz 44spl when fired with heavy loads....Buffalo Bore's 250gr hardcast@ 970fps in my 3" barrel, has an extreme muzzle jump/recoil, but, due to the light weight, less momentum, so it seems to get back on target controllably. I considered magnaporting it, but got used to it, and now am comfortable with it. The 300grn loads in the M329, might be a real good place for magnaporting....should greatly reduce the muzzle rise.