Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A bit sad at the waste

Unhappy A bit sad at the waste

I was at the transfer station here in the Fairbanks area and came across this file of stripped fish. I am a bit sad at the amount of meat left on the fish after filleting and then dumped at the transfer station. I am no pro at processing my fish but it really appears that the person who did this has neither the respect for the resource or the respect of his community. Just sayin.

image1.jpg
    All paradise rests in the shadow of swords." ~K. Yates

unreal... the stuff flowing down the Russian in past years when I've gone has been a pretty sad scene too. What's really crazy (to me) too is folks at Chitina filleting their fish and rinsing the (poorly cut / butchered) fillets right there in the silt and putting them all in a big black bag to slime together and become one big sloppy mess. Some folks must not know better because you'd think after putting the effort in to catch the fish would translate to proper care for catch, respect for resource...crazy

It shows the intelligence of the person responsible for the mess and wast that they would throw out the best part of the fish. Sockeye bellies are by far my favorite part.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Quote Originally Posted by Predator Control View Post
    It shows the intelligence of the person responsible for the mess and wast that they would throw out the best part of the fish. Sockeye bellies are by far my favorite part.
    Oh man....that makes my mouth water...!!!
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!