Thread: rebarreling

Default rebarreling

I have been thinking for a while now about rebarreling my rem 700 308 to a differnt caliber but I want something bigger. Is this possible or is this one I would have to work down from? Not looking at doing any major work to make it happen. Thanks

Action length will determine OAL of your cartridge choices, but a competent gunsmith can rebarrel to any member of the 308 family. I've been shooting the 358 Winchester for a little over 30 years, and can certainly recommend it for "something bigger."

Default 308 or something bigger

You might also try the new Federal 338, the 308 case necked up to 338. It would work fine with 200-225 grain bullets and be a super compact elk getter with the 210 grain partition. Brass and dies are available and ammo will be on the shelf soon. Any of the 308 family will work fine but you can't really make any longer cartridge fir the short action. From the 22-250 to the 358 Win with a stop at just about every whole number, surely there is something you can use. Good shootin'.

Murphy

Default 308

Well, It can be done as others have suggested to the 338-08 or 358 Win. But, the 308 is near optimum, ballistically, as it is. It is an extremely well balanced cartridge. If the gun is not shooting well or if the barrel is eroded then go for it- otherwise I'd be less inclined to change. On rebarreling.... if you're going to spend 100-300 for the cheapest possible barrel and chambering re-do, you might consider going one step further regardless of caliber. The 700 is relatively easy to "blueprint" for those gunsmiths set up to do it. The extra money for the complete job may allow for the best possible outcome- longest accurate barrel life and most accurate rifle. A SS match barrel from Shilen or Krieger, etc., on a blueprinted action and reamer job, placed in a good stock is hard to beat! Regardless- good luck and good shooting

HuntingAK,