Thread: Therma Rest Prolite 3

Wink Therma Rest Prolite 3

Any one have any backpacking experience with these? I've always used the ridge rest, and am doubtful of the inflating types. Do they let you down?? Thanks Bill
    ; for them that honour me I will honour, and they that despise me shall be lightly esteemed. 1 SAMUEL 2;30

I have been using Therma Rest self-inflating pads for 20+ years and have been very happy with them. I've had to repair a couple leaks over the years. Usually my fault, such as useing them directly on the ground as a chair or tying them to the outside of my pack w/o any protection and a leaky valve that Therma Rest replaced. As I've gotten older I've lightened the load I carry. I now use the light weight style (1" thick) full length, but may go to a 3/4 length pad to shed a few more ounces. There are a few new ground pads I would like to look at if I get a chance.

Woody

Thumbs up

My climbing partner in Aspen has one of these and we used it on a significant climb we did in that area a few years ago.
    He had one for him and I used a different mat. He was warm all night and I downright froze.
    I decided to look up some stats for you on it:
    http://www.backcountry.com/store/CAS...swatch=CAS0237
    It looks as if your reviews on that link are pretty darn good too. I don't think that it gets any better than that.
    I saw another question on this on www.summitpost.org and the reviews were pretty good.
    I hope that helps.
    Lurker.

Default Thermarest

I have two of the 1.5" pads; they definately are comfy and keep the ground cold off you. The only downside I have found is that they are only about 22" wide and that's just not enough for me to get a good nights sleep on since I sleep on my side most of the time, with my knees bent. I'm 6' and 190 lbs but if they made wider one I'd get it.

Quote Originally Posted by LongHunter7 View Post