Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: First boat for the Copper River?

Default First boat for the Copper River?

Hi, I want to Dipnet north of the bridge at Chitina. I am new to boating, but will have an experienced boater with me, although his boating experience has been in the sound...anyway, I'm guessing it needs to be a flat bottom/river boat, at least 18 ft long?? 40 hp engine or a little larger? my plan is to go up river a ways and tie off somewhere, since I'm told you can't access the river up stream due to it is surrounded by private lands. Something that can go in the river and the sound would be great, but I suppose that would be asking too much........

Thanks

From what I have seen most guys run jets. So a 40 h.p. jet I think would be way too light of engine.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

Default First boat for the Copper River?

You surprised at what you see. If your above the bridge dip netting you'll be ok. But it won't take much and you won't have power to push you self back up.

I ran 50 horse prop all dip net season on copper above bridge dipnetting. The guide also runs a prop.
    As far as access it state Here a couple pics.

The copper is not a river learn how to run a boat on.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Do I give my friends advice? Jesus, no. They wouldn't take advice from me. Nobody should take advice from me. I haven't got a clue about anything..

Thanks for the responses.
    akmike, are you using a flat bottom boat? doesn't really look like it. That would give me some more options and uses!

If you were me, what type of boat would you be looking for?

Thanks