Thread: First Trip to Homer

Question First Trip to Homer

Man I'm excited but I'm a Maryland fisherman. Well let's say I'm a pretty decent novice - bottom fishing for perch, blues, spot, croakers etc.

Next week I arrive in Homer for a first time Alaskan experience, July 16 - 21. Myself and two others will be fishing on our own. One of us have been to Alaska before and is said to be pretty familiar...However I'd like to do my own research. So here I am seeking advice.

Clearly I have no fly equipment-it seems to be a little expensive to dive into just for the trip, so I'd like to simply use my spincast gear.

Can you guys suggest what's best, rod type, line, etc. We will be fishing the Kenai and Russian Rivers I'm told. (are there any spots that we should add to that?) I'm also hearing that the Kings are finished for the most part and I should expect more Reds. Maybe some Silvers and Dollys in the Homer Spit.

Any helpful feedback is welcome and will be deeply appreciated. We do plan on a charter trip or two for some halibut but I'm told not get too concerned there because tackle will be provided.

Mid sized rod and reel. Say 20lb test and gear to match. That should work in any spot. You can buy "russian river flies" at any tackle shop, but I just make sure I use a legal sized hook for where I'm fishing and then put some pink yarn on it. (yarn fly). That is for reds, I use vibrax (a 4 or 5) for silvers.

One thing you MUST have is a reg book as they are very complicated and change from river to river, and even within rivers (ie Kenai).

Where you will be at there are a TON of fishing places. Don't ignore the anchor for silvers and trout. You might want to try a hand a clam digging at Clam gulch down the road from homer. YOu would need to buy a tube (PVC pipe that catches clams). Also try the Kasilof at crooked creek. A lot less people than the Kenai and you have to drive right by it.