Thread: blacktail rifle questions

Default blacktail rifle questions

I'm fairly new to S.E. AK and I'm looking for some suggestions for a lightweight stainless rifle or carbine. Basically I want a brush-type gun that is light enough to comfortably pack long distances while hiking my trapline and that won't get eaten up by the marine climate we have down here. The lower the cost the better. This rifle would be used for deer and wolves.

Default rifle question

I'd say a tikka t-3 ss/syn in whatever caliber you like

Where there are deer there are brownies. Be prepared.
    Tennessee

Default brownies?

Won't be any Brownies on the islands I trap- atleast thats what they told me- got any rifle suggestions?

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

I'd probably get a Savage, in SS, with a Synthetic stock, chambered for 308 Winchester, or even 7mm-08.

For sights a Weaver K4 if you want a scope, and use Weaver Quad lock rings.

If iron sights, a Lyman Reciever Sight for the rear, and a wide post in the front.

None of the above would cost an arm and a leg, except, possibly the iron sights, since they would have to be installed.

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

Remington Model 7 Stainless Steel 7mm-08 or .308 Win.

IMHO, for the money you won't get a stouter gun than the Ruger M77's, and they offer the stainless in their ultralight configuration. I have a blued ultralight in .308, and it is a very accurate gun. For trapping and blacktails, anything from 223 on up will do the trick. As for scopes, while the weavers are good glass for the money, they have very little eye relief, and I don't care for the reticle. Getting a used leupold M8 4X is worth the effort in finding one.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Paul H: