Thread: Painful Realization

Default Painful Realization

I have been handloading for a few decades now. I consider myself a decent shot and once earned my "expert marksman" award in ROTC. I enjoy the intellectual satisfaction of finding "the best load" for my rifles. I am methodical and perfectionistic in my technique, trying to do what I can to eliminate variables and human error in my quest for accuracy. Unfortunately, because of the demands of family, work, and a thousand other excuses, I don't get to shoot as often as I would like. That means that all my efforts at working up an excellent handload, with all my careful attention to detail, are really pointless. The "weak link" in my load development is not the wrong powder or the wrong primer or how far the bullet lies from the lands (etc.) -- it is me. My rifle shoots more accurately than I can shoot it. My loads are better than what my shooting can make use of, making it impossible to accurately evaluate a specific load. The "quest for accuracy" really assumes a shooter who is up to the task, which I suspect takes shooting hundreds or even thousands of rounds a year. There is a "zen" of shooting, even from a bench, which is part natural talent, and part learned skill. If you have an unreliable load, you can't master it, and if you haven't mastered it, how can you decide which load is most accurate. So my question is this: how can I eliminate the greatest single source of error in my handloading -- me? Once I know I have an excellent load for my excellent rifle, it is easier to evaluate errors in my shooting technique and to shoot confidently in the field. Is there a "best" rifle rest that minimizes human error? I would appreciate people's thoughts and suggestions, aside from lots and lots of practice with my target .22, for minimizing this major source of "handloading inaccuracy."