Thread: Nosler Solid Base Bullets and larger game

Default Nosler Solid Base Bullets and larger game

Hi all,

My brother ask me how Nosler Solid Base Bullets do on larger game such as elk or moose. I have never used them, so I need some advice for him. I'm hoping you all can help me. Thanks for the Info. : )

Ron

While I have no experience with shooting game with them, my understanding is that they open a little slower than Ballistic Tips but are otherwise pretty close in performance to them. From what I've read of them I consider them to be whitetail bullets and would opt for something more substantial on larger game unless the velocity was kept down. I understand that they are being discontinued again. I use seconds for practice bullets in my .270 and they are quite accurate.

I believe that Solid base became the Ballistic tip. They are very accurate and flat shooting. I used them in .270 for a couple of seasons years ago when anticipating long shots. Whilst stalking some distant deer, i scared a buck out of his bed and shot him at approx 40 yds. Bullet made a bit of a mess of the ribs, but then broke apart and sent shards in to the shoulder (ruining meat) and punctured the gut as it behaved like a varmint bullet. I think that they would be fine for a specific purpose of long range (200yds plus) deer but given the nature of hunting variables I think that they are just about useless for hunting. I still use them for accuracy testing as they provide cloverleaf groups. Apparently they are more robust in .338 caliber and up but I just don't believe that they can be as good as a partition.

Default solid base and BT

Short and simple for both the Solid Base and the Ballistic tip --- NO, not for big game! OK for target or varmint. This opinion based on multiple experiences of careful examination of wound channels of game shot with both types of bullets.

I agree with George 100% they should be outlawed on any game bigger than a ground hog.