Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: new rifle caliber

Default new rifle caliber

I know this has been talked and talked and talked about, but I'm looking for a reason to pick up a new rifle. I have been looking at the cooper model 92. A light weight rifle that shoots .5 really gets me going. Im trying to decide on what caliber. I will be using this rifle for up to elk size animals, but mainly deer size critters. I have it narrowed down to a few calibers. The shots will be 450 and closer (but to be honest 300 and closer)

1st 338-06 I already have one, but dang it kills good and i have a bunch of brass. I'm just not sure if I will get proper bullet expansion that my max range.

2nd 30-06 boring caliber, but everyone needs at least one and I don't have one right now

3rd 6.5x284 norma. I really like this caliber, but I have no experience with it.

4th 300 win mag. like th round, but don't know how i will recoil form a 6.5lbs rifle.

5th 280 remington. With all the choices for .284 bullets I thought with a 1/9 twist I could shoot 120gr to 175ge bullets.

Just to be different while putting you in that realm, why not a 284? If it's an 06 length action, I'd go so far as throating it to seat a 160 grain Partition out so the base of the bullet resides at the base of the neck. Pushing the bullet up out of the powder space would be an interesting "AI" result, I bet. Along those lines I had a 243 Ruger #1 that turned out to have a throat so long I could seat the Speer 105 spitzers that way, and the extra powder capacity really pumped velocities when I worked up a new "max" for the extra capacity. A long-seated 284 might do some really interesting things with modern powders, even as you could still shoot factory rounds.

I've had several 284's over the years and still own a Savage 99 284, and the round has always made me with the bullet wasn't 3/4 of its length down into the powder space.