Thread: Tikka barrel swap

Default Tikka barrel swap

I think my plan will work, but I'm throwing this question up to the experts here.

So I want a left handed Tikka T3x in 338 win mag. Yes, I know it's going to kick. Anyways, such a configuration isn't brought into the US. But EuroOptics has right handed T3's in 338 win mag for $499. If I also get a left handed T3x in some other chambering, will a barrel swap be as simple as it sounds? I'd turn around and sell the remaining rifle. Is there any reason to get the left handed T3x in a particular chambering to make the barrels mate best with the actions? I believe the long actions are identical and barrels are of the same contour, but I'm not a Tikka expert. I would have a gunsmith do the barrel swap for sure. Anyone have any good gunsmith recommendations and idea for how much it would cost?

Can you think of any bugs in the plan?

Why not just buy a lefty and have a smith put a custom barrel on it?

This gentleman does very good work: http://cmgunworks.com/
    He who knows nothing is closer to the truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods and errors. ~Thomas Jefferson
    I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief. ~Gerry Spence
    The last thing Alaska needs is another bigot. ~member Catch It

Quote Originally Posted by iofthetaiga View Post
    Why not just buy a lefty and have a smith put a custom barrel on it?

This gentleman does very good work: http://cmgunworks.com/

So that I can sell a completed rifle instead of just a barrel, and I like the factory Tikka barrels.

My thought was that a custom barrel wouldn't be much more work for the smith and likely produce better results. Might be less expensive in the long run too...

Regardless, you'd probably be best served to consult the smith you want to do the job and get his advice.

I can highly recommend Greg (Council Gunworks). He does very high quality work.