Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Harassed by drone off Denali hwy

Default Harassed by drone off Denali hwy

I have been hunting moose at the same camp for over 20 years off the Denali with my buddy and our sons. We have respected other camps by not infringing on their areas or their hunt. This year a camp hunting on the southwest side of round mountain who have been hunting there for the past 3 years or so who have bothered us before by flashing lights on us at night, sidehilling on us with rigs and moose calling while we were putting a stalk on a bull reached a new low. They showed up this year with 9 rigs and 13 people, 3 to 4 children who we could hear screaming and yelling from roughly a mile away or so.Just as we left our camp for the evening hunt we heard a buzzing sound and we new immediately we new it was a drone! My son watched it over our camp, we had meat on our meat pole which could be seen from their camp as they are higher up and can see our camp. They obviously saw us looking for the sound from the drone as my son saw it over our camp than watched it go back their camp. They were the only camp on the mountain! So it by no mistake that it was from them. It was also a very quiet night. My son took pics of their camp through my Swarovski spotting scope. Will post pics after I talk with fish and game troopers today along with other info. We as hunters cannot let people like this get away with this! It saddens me that they disrespect hunting like this and what are they teaching those kids!

I'd be really interested to hear more about this topic. I totally get your frustration with the inconsiderate hunters and their sidehilling ways, but how does the drone cause you a problem? Did it follow you when you went hunting? I wonder if the other party will post an account of being perturbed by someone photographing their camp through a Swaro.
    Passing up shots on mergansers since 1992.