Thread: Chart Plotters

Default Chart Plotters

Hey guys,

I've read a bunch of threads all over this forum about chart plotters. I'd like to hear some newer perspectives and since this is a forum, I figured some discussion could be nice.

I'd love your opinions on the best chart plotter for river boats vs the best chart plotter for ocean boats. Anyone strictly using their iPad?

I had a lowrance GPS years ago and I thought it was adequate. I've been using Garmin since and I have zero complaints. It's easy to use and shows what I need. I have no experience with any other brands, and I see no reason to change at this point

Sent from my HTC One A9 using Tapatalk
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

I had Garmin I believe 740 touchscreen. While the unit worked great, I grew to hate the touchscreen aspect of it. Warm and dry it worked great. The boat I had then was a soft top boat that often leaked just enough to be damp. With cold wet fingers it sucked trying to get the touchscreen to do what I would ask it to do. As long as hands were dry and warm no problem. Just like working a cellphone. I now have Buttons again on my new garmin. No complaints about the unit. Worked awesome with warm dry fingers.

I've used Gaia GPS on my iPhone and iPad (only models with cell chip have gps antennas) a lot for running rivers in my little jet boat that doesn't have any electronics. Have followed tracks out in the dark with them no problem. The new IOS update allows the GPS antenna to work in airplane mode. As long as you kill all the apps and keep it in airplane mode with only your gps app running when you need it, the battery lasts for quite a long time. I hunted a long weekend with my iPhone this year and came out with 50% battery left, and never shut the phone off - only killed all the apps when not in use.