Thread: Sighting in at 200yds

Default Sighting in at 200yds

So I'm at the range for a few hours today trying to determine what is going to shoot better for me. The rifle is a Win model 70 300wsm in a McMillian Edge stock with a swaro 3.5-15x44. I'm shooting bug holes with it at 100yds. The gun has always shot good but it's as good as I have shot ever at 100. Move out to 200 and I'm all over the place. I'm shooting off of a Lead sled and doing everything I was doing at 100 but I'll get 1 low 4" and left 2" then low 3" and right 3" then a 3rd shot will be 4" high and a couple inches left.
    The ammo that shot best at 100yds was Federal premium trophy copper. Nosler Accubonds were noticeably not as tight of groups. Out at 200 they both were equally as bad. I'm fairly new at trying to shoot consistently out past 100yds. But now I'm frustrated to say the least. Any ideas or thoughts? Thanks
    Tomorrow isn't promised. "Never delay kissing a pretty girl or opening a bottle of whiskey." E. Hemingway

Are you changing the power setting to a higher power when you move from 100 to 200 yards..........????

What are you using for a target.........??? You might try the 6" florescent red stick-on beechwood casey on a plain white sheet of paper.

When did you last have your eyes examined.........??? Seriously.....???

The night before.........try several shots of tequila.........and howling like a wolf.......

All good points agl. Especially the eye exam. I resemble that remark and lived through it.

Also the change of powers on the scope. I had one scope that would change a foot @100yds if you changed from 2.5 to 8 power.

Were you shooting the lead sled at both ranges? You need to shoot the rifle the same way every time. I find that shooting off a rest, allowing the rifle to recoil freely (like with a lead sled), can give very different results than shooting like I would in the field with my hand holding the fore-end.