Thread: Old Town Tripper substitute?

Default Old Town Tripper substitute?

Since it appears that Old Town no longer makes the Tripper canoe model (hoping someone will correct me that I'm mistaken), what are some alternatives that would be comparable. Also since Rolayex is no longer available suggestions as to similarly durable materials would be great too.

Looking for a bit of an all around canoe, enjoyable to paddle on day trips, but also able to handle a decent load too for extended trips and possibly hauling a moose out (which would probably put the canoe at gross wt. capacity or a little above, which I realize there are drawbacks to). Used mostly on small to medium lakes, marshes, and easier rivers (class 1-2 for the most part as I'm not experienced enough with whitewater to feel comfortable taking on anything more challenging in a canoe. I'd primarily use it for lining up shallow streams for hunting, sneaking back into sloughs and marsh for hunting and day/weekend trips on local rivers. It'd be nice to keep the weight below or around 70 lbs so that portaging isn't too terrible. There are so many manufactures and options out there that it is a bit intimidating to figure out where to start looking.

Looking at the prospector series by Novacraft in their Tuffstuff lay-up. Seems like it'd be a good all around canoe but am open to any and all suggestions.

Also availability of either shipping the canoe to Fairbanks or Anchorage or having available locally will play into the decision as well.

Thanks in advance!

I might wait on T-Formex canoes from Esquif and see how they stand up long term. This is a similar material to Royalex but more abrasion resistance but I think time will tell. A Prospecteur 17 would be a good tripping design if the material pans out.

Nova-Craft makes a prospector 18 and Tuff-Stuff looks pretty good. This boat is similar in carrying capacity to my battered old Tripper.. Not quite as indestructable as rolayex but very good and very light.