Thread: Beginner Trails

Default Beginner Trails

Hey everyone...looking for a little expertise. I just bought a Honda Pioneer 700-4. I have some experience with ATVs, but have never had a side-by-side before. I have a young family (2 y/o and 4 y/o). I am looking to get the machine out and ride to familiarize myself and my family with it a little before winter. I am looking for trails in the Eagle River/Matsu area that aren't overly treacherous that would be good sort of "leisure" rides for the family and I in order to try to get our feet under us and get more familiar with this machine. I know that Eklutna sort of fits this bill but is only open from Sun-Wed. We rode a little up the willow side of hatchers pass last weekend.

Anyone have good suggestions for trail(s) to ride that would be good for this sort of purpose?

Really appreciate any help folks are willing to give.

Petersville road from Kroto Creek back

I don't know of any trail that is a few miles long that does not have the potential of getting a person stuck or in trouble. That does not mean you should not go. Just take a few things that if something does happen you can get back. Extra rope, hand saw, shovel, pulley block, tow strap, flashlight, road flares, first aid kit, Extra gas. Also carry extra gas in the truck in case you forgot to fill the atv tank before leaving.

Items to make the trip more fun goggle (dust -rain), toilet paper, water to drink and water to wash with, soap, wash cloth, hat, face mask (dust), food, mosquito net, repellant, rain gear.