Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Marking your anchor line

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    north pole
    Posts
    71

    Default Marking your anchor line

    got some new rope for the boat and was wanting to mark it in maybe every 50' some how. What would hold up to the use of a windlass. Any ideas found that worked best? Spray paint, ribbon tied in? Dug around here and haven't found much info.

    Thank you for your advice.

    jb

  2. #2
    Member HKYDDY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    42

    Default

    I use red spray paint for plastic. I put a good sized mark every 100 feet. Just did new rode the beginning of this season and it looks like just painted it.

  3. #3
    Member hoose35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Soldotna, Alaska, United States
    Posts
    2,890

    Default

    Are you guys marking you line so you can calculate scope?

    Sent from my HTC One A9 using Tapatalk
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

  4. #4

    Default

    If you have 3 strand rode you can easily twist it until the strands open up and weave in a bright colored string.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    wasilla
    Posts
    451

    Default

    In the diving world we used white as ten foot incriments, yellow as 50', red as 100'. So for 150' we would see a yellow band of electrical tape, and then a red right next to it. For 350 you would see 3 red bands and a yellow one. Cheap, easy, durable and has become as industry standard for marking lengths on stuff going in the water. Caveat: not usually Anchor line but could work the same.

  6. #6
    Member Frostbitten's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!
    Posts
    3,279

    Default

    Also curious. What's the purpose of marking your anchor rode?

  7. #7
    Sponsor potbuilder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Palmer
    Posts
    4,229

    Default

    I'm sure this won't be acceptable to most of you guys cause it doesn't cost enough(wink) but i've always just used a piece of poly rope tucked thru the lay of the rope if its 3 strand, if its braid i'd just get a carpet needle and poke it thru the weave. Any poly rope will work just cut the length you'll need and take the 3 strands apart, you can even pull one of the strands apart more for a thinner marker. Even a piece of braided hanging twine will work.20160830_213023[1].jpg20160830_213156[1].jpg

    Alaska Shrimp Pots

    Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692

  8. #8

    Default

    Permanent marker. 1 thick stripe at 100', 1 thick and 1 thin at 150', 2 thick at 200', 2 thick and 1 thin at 250' etc.... etc...
    The Tug is the Drug
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    2007 Wooldridge Super Sport Offshore - Evinrude Etec 225 - "Eagle VI"

  9. #9
    Member tlingitwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    2,257

    Default

    I have an anchor twice as big as I need, and 150% of recomended chain for the size of my boat. I dont bother too much with fine tuning my scope.
    In 1492 Native Americans discovered Columbus lost at sea
    _________________________________________________

    If I come across as an arrogant, know-it-all jerk, it's because I am

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    north pole
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoose35 View Post
    Are you guys marking you line so you can calculate scope?

    Sent from my HTC One A9 using Tapatalk
    Yes that's what I was trying to accomplish. Thinking it would help a bit and eliminate the guessing.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    north pole
    Posts
    71

    Default

    Thanks for your ideas. It is 3 strand I purchased.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    wasilla
    Posts
    451

    Default

    I guess when in doubt you could GPS your line out. That's what the big boats do.

  13. #13
    Member jrogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    1,539

    Default

    West Marine has a product for that which I have used for years:

    http://www.westmarine.com/buy/west-m...arkers--104372
    2009 Seawolf 31'
    www.seawolfmarine.com
    Fully Loaded

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Anchor Point
    Posts
    162

    Default

    I use black electrical tape every 100-ft.
    1 stripe at 100ft, 2 stripes at 200-ft and so on to 400ft.
    At 500-ft I use I put 5 stripes of red tape.
    At 550-ft I use red and black tape.
    I have 640ft of chain and rode.
    Then end of my rope is tied to a 1/2 inch thick round stainless ring that cannot go thru the hole in the deck.
    I replace the tape every 2 seasons. Not perfect setup but it works for me.

  15. #15

    Default

    I just serve it with standard tarred twine. Easy, quick and permanent.
    "Lay in the weeds and wait, and when you get your chance to say something, say something good."
    Merle Haggard

  16. #16

    Default

    I let line out till the anchor hits bottom. Then I let out a little more. If it drags, I let out a little more... If I run out of line, I cross my fingers.

  17. #17

    Default

    I always let the anchor go to the bottom then back the boat up and I think there's enough rope out I tie the rope off then keep backing up to set the hook if it doesn't grab let some more rope out and try it again.

  18. #18
    Member L. G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N'ern S.E. AK
    Posts
    838

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LastSplash View Post
    I always let the anchor go to the bottom then back the boat up and I think there's enough rope out I tie the rope off then keep backing up to set the hook if it doesn't grab let some more rope out and try it again.
    You guys do know that Chapman's recommends 7:1 rode. LMFAO. I got 200 feet of rope, some chain and a big azz Danforth. I don't even consider throwing the hook out in more than 150 ft. Pretty much why I drift for halibut. Having the "Norwegian" anchor puller has a lot to do with a short rope.

  19. #19
    Member tlingitwarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    2,257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by L. G. View Post
    You guys do know that Chapman's recommends 7:1 rode. LMFAO. I got 200 feet of rope, some chain and a big azz Danforth. I don't even consider throwing the hook out in more than 150 ft. Pretty much why I drift for halibut. Having the "Norwegian" anchor puller has a lot to do with a short rope.
    In 30 years of boating, I don't think I've ever had more than a 3-1, and most times its less than 2-1. Big anchor, tons of chain. I don't need that scope. Never had a problem setting, and sleep well on hook. When I'm halibut fishing with folks who know how to fish, I drift. When I have novice fisherman on board I will most likely put the hook out.
    In 1492 Native Americans discovered Columbus lost at sea
    _________________________________________________

    If I come across as an arrogant, know-it-all jerk, it's because I am

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Anchor Point
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Sometimes we anchor in 250ft.
    I have 40ft of chain.
    I put out between 500-550 ft of line.
    My boat weighs about 8k.
    I only anchor for halibut in non minus tide weeks.
    This system works for me.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •