Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Gear Review

Default New Gear Review

Now that I am a resident of the great state of Alaska, I have a goat, alpine deer, and brown bear hunt coming up in a few weeks. I broke down and bought some Kuiu gear with the help of a 20% off code https://share.kuiu.com/x/ZMsxFW .

Also added a Vortex Viper HD 65mm and a pair of Under Armor Browtine 800 gram boots.

For the Kuiu gear I got the Ultra 6000 pack, Teton soft-shell jacket, Teton rain jacket, Chugach NX rain pants, and Alpine pants.

The pack is well made, super light, and full of features. Strapped a rifle to it, loaded my gear and set off. After half a mile I stopped and adjusted the straps and load. I had 40 lbs it and never felt anything dig into me and the load barely moved.

The clothing feels super light weight but very well constructed. I put some things in the pockets of my alpine pants and slipped my rain pants over them. The rain pants have two way zippers making access to your under layer easy put still water proof. It was raining sideways and windy most of the time. Never got wet and felt warm but comfortable.

The boots were a little stiff out the box but broke in easy. Great traction, never slipped. Huge fan of the boots.

The spotting scope, flawless. It's an angled one, looking down was a little tough, but I could see a 2x2 laying down in the valley below.

I have the same pack and and have hauled well over 100# on it. While that's never easy, it does fare better than my big frame pack. One suggestion for your gear - get the Kifaru gun sling - you'll never carry a rifle the same again. Yes, they will fit your pack.

I recently got a total gear package from Kuiu and I am very happy with the products and the customer service was over the top.

I agree 100%

Quote Originally Posted by Sheep Hunter View Post
    I recently got a total gear package from Kuiu and I am very happy with the products and the customer service was over the top.