Thread: Need used boat buying advice

Default Need used boat buying advice

I'm looking to buy my first boat next year, and I'd like to stick to around $7500. The boat will be be used heavily on the Middle and Lower Kenai for various types of Salmon and trout fishing. I'd also like to use it for hunting around Skilak and Tusty.

As I'm new to the boat game, I'd like some advice on what to look for. What's the best hull design for the above usage? Are there dealers in Anchorage that deal in used boats?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

At your price point. you are in a hard spot.

First things first, Boat stands for break out another thousand. Your boat is gonna cost you money at some point so be aware of that and it's always side crap that you never think about. You can put a good boat together for 7500 bucks. I started out spending 3k on it and right now I've probably spent over 10k on all the stuff I've bought for it total, but I can probably sell everything for more than what I put into it. I'm not planning on selling it because I love boating, it's a hell of a lot of fun. If you buy a boat and don't like it you can always sell it, you might lose money or break even, or you could make money if you play your cards right.