Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trailer Tie Downs...Need Advice

Default Trailer Tie Downs...Need Advice

So, the geometry of my trailer isn't favorable to convenient aft tie downs. The trailer frame is wide, but the boat is narrow. The transom, however, is well supported by the bunks. The question is: Do tie down attach points, legally or practically, need to be to the trailer frame? I'm seeing a possible way to make a substantial attach points to the underside of the bunks that would equate to a short run for the straps which I see as a positive..less potential for slop and/or weight shift. Since I'm not a lawyer or an engineer, I thought I better ask for more experienced opinions.

lets see a pic gary.

Alaska Shrimp Pots

Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692

Based on all of the hewescraft OP's and bigger boats that Dewey's sells without any system for tiedowns I don't think there are any legal implications to what you want to do. When I asked them for the straps they told me there aren't any and they don't provide them because the law doesn't require them (same with brakes on the trailer).

Quote Originally Posted by Bullelkklr View Post
    Based on all of the hewescraft OP's and bigger boats that Dewey's sells without any system for tiedowns I don't think there are any legal implications to what you want to do. When I asked them for the straps they told me there aren't any and they don't provide them because the law doesn't require them (same with brakes on the trailer).
    Thanks for the intel, Bull. Since it quit raining for a few minutes, I crawled under to take a good look. There are a couple good places that I can make work. This boat has very little deadrise so I want the aft end snugged down to avoid side shift. Took a pic but can't seem to get it posted.