Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: barrel length question

Default barrel length question

I'm looking at ordering a rifle from Montana Rifle Co. I want the X2 in 338 Federal, however I noticed that all of their rifles have long barrels compared to most factory rifles. Theirs run from 24-26 inches long. Anyone know the reason for this ? I have been shooting the Federal for a few years now and its pretty easy to get 25-2600 fps from a 20-inch tube.

I can only guess because I haven't seen anything official about them along those lines. But it's been pretty common down through time for a company to try to squeeze a little extra velocity by adding inches. I've seen about a dozen rifles built by PO Ackley himself for his wildcats, and all were 26" or longer. One was a 30-06 Improved sporting a 30" barrel! The 257 Roberts 3" that RCBS built for me long, long ago had a 26" Shilen match barrel. I endured that for about 2 decades before wising up and clipping it back to 22. Handy dandy now, and the critters don't notice the loss of 100fps or so.

I'm with you---- A 22" barrel would be as long as I wanted on a 338 Fed.
    "Lay in the weeds and wait, and when you get your chance to say something, say something good."
    Merle Haggard

It's easy to make a barrel shorter, but pretty expensive to make one longer. Personally, I like a 24 or 26" barrel, but that's just me.
    "A strong body makes the mind strong. As to the species of exercises, I advise the gun. While this gives moderate exercise to the body, it gives boldness, enterprise, and independence to the mind."

The Ruger Frontier (precursor to the Ruger Gunsight) came chambered in 338 Federal, it had a 16.5" barrel.
    http://www.shootingtimes.com/ammo/am...lgrade_200804/

Maybe the Montana Rifle Co. thought the 338 Federal was like the 338 win mag and put that long barrel on it, who knows.

Sobie2

Gunbugs has the answer.

Why worry about a barrel being longer than you want when it is so simple